# Navigation and basic functionality

This chapter is about general appearance, navigation and basic functionality of the different views in AsTeRICS Grid:

  1. Welcome view: intial view shown at first usage
  2. Main view: starting view showing the recently used grid and navigation
  3. Edit view: view that allows modification of a grid
  4. Manage grids view: show all grids, create new ones, create a backup
  5. Manage dictionaries view: show, edit and create new dictionaries
  6. Change user view: switch users or login an existing one

Back to Overview

# Welcome view

AsTeRICS Grid initially starts with a welcome view giving the choice between:

  1. Use AsTeRICS Grid without registration: choose this option in order to create a local default user and directly start using AsTeRICS Grid.
  2. Register now: choose this option in order to sign up for an online user, which makes it possible to synchronize the grids across devices.

See Terms for more information about offline/online users.

# Main view

Once taken a decision in the welcome view AsTeRICS Grid subsequently starts in the “main view” which looks like Figure 1 (desktop view on the left, mobile view on the right):

main view Fig. 1: Main view

The elements have this functionality:

  1. Open or close the left navigation sidebar
  2. Main: navigate to the main view (currently shown)
  3. Manage grids: show all grids of the current user, add new ones or backup them to a file
  4. Manage dictionaries: show all saved dictionaries, edit them or add new ones
  5. Change user: switch between saved users or log in an existing online user
  6. Add online user: register a new online user (synchronized across devices), see Users
  7. Add offline users: add a new offline user (only for this device)
  8. About AsTeRICS Grid: Show general information, links, contact address
  9. Input options: Options about how to select grid elements (e.g. click, hover, scanning)
  10. Edit grid: edit the layout of the grid, add new elements, actions for grid elements
  11. Fullscreen: hide the sidebar and the bar on the top, only showing the current grid (Fig. 1, number 13)
  12. Lock: lock the screen in order to prevent unintended input or changes beside using and navigating the grid (Fig. 1, number 13)
  13. Grid: demo grid consisting of 6 grid elements which are navigating to other grids if selected

# Edit view

Clicking on Button “Edit” (Fig. 1, number 9) opens the edit view where a grid can be adapted, see Figure 2:

edit view Fig.2: Edit view

The following elements are available in the edit view:

  1. Open or close the navigation sidebar
  2. Back: navigate back to last view (either main view, or manage grids view)
  3. Undo: reverts the last action
  4. Redo: redoes the last action after reverting it
  5. More: opens a menu with additional actions, e.g adding new elements
  6. Edit area: Grid elements can be repositioned by dragging them (drap & drop). On the right bottom corner it’s possible to resize a grid element.
  7. Right click on a grid element: opens a menu for editing the element (open it with long tap on a mobile device/touchscreen)

See page Edit grid appearance and layout for more details about editing a grid.

# Manage grids view

The manage grids view provides an overview about the current grids of a user, see Figure 2:

manage grids view Fig.3: Manage grids view

The following elements are available in the manage grids view:

  1. Open or close the navigation sidebar
  2. Search bar: filter the listed grids by entering a part of a grid name
  3. New grid: add a new, empty grid
  4. More: shows menu with additional actions, e.g. backup the grids to file
  5. Edit grid name: edit the name of the grid
  6. Show: open this grid in main view
  7. Edit: open this grid in edit view
  8. Clone: duplicate this grid, creating a copy of it with a different name
  9. Delete: deletes the grid
  10. Export: saves and downloads the specific grid to a .grd file creating a backup of it (saves only this single grid, see “More” menu below to backup all grids)

# Additional options

Clicking on Button “More” (Fig. 3, number 4) opens menu with additional options:

manage grids more menu

These are the possible options:

  1. New grid: creates a new and empty grid, same as Fig. 3, number 3
  2. Export all grids to file: creates and downloads a file (.grd) containing a backup of all current grids
  3. Import grid(s) from file: imports one or more grids from a .grd file in addition to currently existing grids
  4. Import backup from file: imports one or more grids from a .grd file as a backup, deleting all current grids and only keeping the grids from the imported .grd file
  5. Reset to default configuration: deletes all current grids and replaces them with the default demo configuration

# Manage dictionaries view

In the manage dictionaries view currently saved dictionaries that are used for filling prediction elements (see Terms) can be shown and adapted (Figure 4):

manage dictionaries view Fig. 4: Manage dictionaries view

The following elements are available in the manage dictionaries view:

  1. Open or close the navigation sidebar
  2. New dictionary: add a new, empty dictionary
  3. Edit dictionary name: change the name of a dictionary
  4. Edit: show, edit and add new words to the dictionary
  5. Clone: create a copy of the dictionary
  6. Delete: removes the dictionary

For more information about using dictionaries see Dictionaries.

# Change user view

In the change user view it’s possible to switch between users or login a existing one (Figure 5):

change user view Fig. 5: Change user view

The following elements are available in the change users view:

  1. Open or close the navigation sidebar
  2. Active offline user: the currently active user is recognizable by a black user symbol and the word “active” next to the username. The active user is the user whose grids and configuration are currently used and shown in all other views.
  3. Inactive online user: The little cloud symbol indicates an online user (see Terms) and the gray user symbol that he is currently inactive, meaning that the user’s grids are currently not used.
  4. Inactive offline user: The gray user symbol without a cloud indicates an inactive offline user (see Terms)
  5. Open: sets the user “active” and opens the main view, showing the user’s grid(s). Sets all other users inactive, there is always only one active user.
  6. Delete: deletes the user and all of his grids and configuration. Use with caution, this action cannot be undone. This option is only available for offline users.
  7. Logout: deletes the user and all of his grids and configuration, but only on the current device. Data in the cloud and on other devices that are logged in with the same user will not be deleted. This option is only available for online users.
  8. Login with other user: put in username and password of an existing online user in order to add it to the current device. In order to create a new online or offline user, follow one of the links below.
  9. Remember checkbox: if checked, the newly logged in online user will be saved to the device and listed in the list of users in the current user view. If unchecked the user will only be opened temporarily and no user data will be saved on the device (recommended for logging in on foreign devices).

For information about offline or online users and how to add them see Users.

← Previous Chapter Next Chapter →

Back to Overview

Last Updated: 11/15/2019, 5:08:56 AM